Prof. Buddhima Indraratna, University of Wollongong, Australia

Professor Buddhima Indraratna

Distinguished Professor Buddhima Indraratna graduated from Imperial College, London, and obtained his PhD at the University of Alberta, Canada. He was appointed as Professor of Civil Engineering and the Foundation Director of the Centre for Geomechanics and Railway Engineering (GRE) at the University of Wollongong in 1999. He currently leads the Australian Research Council funded Training Centre for Advanced Technologies in Rail Track Infrastructure (ITTC – Rail). He has provided leadership in numerous R & D projects and consultancies funded by the Australian Research Council, 3 consecutive Cooperative Research Centres in Railways, Industry organisations and State Agencies exceeding $25 million dollars over the past decade.   Professor Indraratna was awarded the ISSMGE’s Inaugural Ralph Proctor Lecture (2016) and the 4th Louis Menard Lecture (2017); 2010 the EH Davis Memorial Lecture of the Australian Geomechanics Society for distinguished contributions to Australian Geomechanics; 2017 Outstanding Contributions Medal and 2015 CS Desai Medal of IACMAG; 2015 RTSA Individual Award for outstanding contributions to railway engineering; 2015 Thomas Telford Premium – Ground Improvement, by the Institution of Civil Engineers (UK) and 2011 Engineers Australia Transport Medal. For putting theory into practice and initiating innovations in rail track technologies through collaborative research with RailCorp (now Sydney Trains), he received the Business- Higher Education Round Table (BHERT) award for Outstanding Contributions sponsored by the Australian Commonwealth in 2009. He was also a recipient of Robert Quigley awards from the Canadian Geotechnical Society in 2007 and 2011. He has been a Keynote speaker at over 50 conferences, and has published 9 Books and more than 700 scholarly publications, including over 300 peer-reviewed international journal papers. He has supervised over 60 PhD graduates and 30 Postdoctoral Fellows. He is a Fellow of numerous professional organisations including the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.


« Go Back

Supporting Publications
Organised by
  • Elsevier
  • CCP
  • AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
Media Partner
  • Global Railway Review